Skip to content

thawing out.

March 5, 2012

Much like a bear, I like to hibernate through winter. While I don’t sleep without pause for months on end [though sometimes I’d like to] I do retire to my apartment, often to my bedroom or bed, where I wear fleece pants, hide beneath piles of warm blankets and sit as close to the fire as possible without melting all the synthetic materials I’ve snuggly wrapped myself in. Occasionally I emerge when work or a trip to the grocery store requires it, but infrequent as these occurrences are, I am usually groggy, grouchy, and disinterested in whatever activity you want me to partake in. I wish this wasn’t the case. But it is, and I’ve accepted it: I’m made for the tropics, and when wearing shorts no longer becomes the comfortable norm my attitude can become as frigid as the weather.

January and February in Murcia were bitterly cold. My father, who checks the weather here daily, will probably argue against this point; he knows that temperatures never dipped below freezing. But I, living in this not unlike desert-ish climate, know that the cold here was much, much worse than whatever claims Wunderground and Weather.com have made. Thermometers evidenced a mild winter, but the humidity made the chill penetrating and despite layering up like a marshmallow puff, my body never adjusted.

Hence: I haven’t posted in over a month. Quite frankly, I have done absolutely nothing worth blogging about…the peak of my entertainment and exploration has been through twenty or so new movies and television series. I haven’t felt inspired. But with the turning weather, it’s time to reemerge from my cave and return to the life I love living.

Three weeks ago I saw crocuses sprouting and knew I was in the home stretch. Now here I am welcoming spring with open arms. Gone are the days of sleeping in a winter jacket and scarf. Hello cut-offs and sandals. God willing, in two weeks time I will even have the opportunity to wear the other 80% of my wardrobe. Wah-freaking-hoo.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 5, 2012 2:58 pm

    Amen!! I’m so excited to wear my summer clothes, to not have to layer like an onion just to go grab a loaf of bread. If I could I would definitely, definitely sleep the winter away. So smart, them bears!

  2. March 7, 2012 4:35 pm

    Nice photos of the food! Murcia is a great place to explore, luckily I was there for the warm summer!

Leave a Reply

